//
you're reading...
i have an opinion on.., loves, random thoughts

attraction vs. temptation and vice versa

can you resist the urge to covet for something that is close to being forbidden? i know the saying that ‘everything is possible’, but how do you muster the strength to deny wanting something that is so beyond your reach, that even if you are given a slight glimmer of hope, you know deep within the core of your being that it is just not possible to want what you covet most.

wanting the impossible. yearning for something that is never going to materialize. longing for a beautiful reality that will forever remain a fantasy.

imagination running wild much? well, yes.

but it is common knowledge that we will never be truly satisfied with what we already have in our lives. we can never quite reach the highest tier of Maslow’s hierarchy of needs, which is the elusive self-actualism because to put it plainly, enough is never actually enough for us mere mortals. we are special beings, that we are.

so what is attraction to you? in what form does it present itself to you? how does that initial attraction then fully transform to something as potent as a temptation? to me, attraction is a positive force that enables a person to explore the unknown but somehow familiar territory of endless possibilities. but what happens after? now that you know the attraction is mutual, what is the next step to take? will you now be tempted to do something that is expected of you? if there is a clear line that has been drawn in the early stages of an attraction (sans raging hormones, imbalanced body chem levels and all), will you be tempted to do what your heart desires? i personally relate temptations to something that is obviously not good or right for me, (imagine bright neon lights flashing every nano second, constantly reminding me to be strong and not limp at the first sight of it) in the sense that, i know by giving in to my temptations, i will eventually have to bear the consequences and live to learn from them.

i’ve seen some people who are able to sweep aside what they may be feeling and not let themselves be easily swayed by the sweet, oh sweet temptation. they put logic above all and let their brains do the thinking, and not the other flattering parts of their body. but sadly, only these selected few possess the ability to think rationally and not allow their emotions get the best of them. bunch of super humans if you ask me.

ah well. resistance is futile. only you can be the judge of your own actions, whether to succumb yourself to this game of emotions, where there are no proper manuals and restrictions on how the game should be played; the outcome can either be devastating or whatever the opposite of devastating is. but one can always hope for a win-win situation. one can only hope.

good luck!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “attraction vs. temptation and vice versa

  1. I don’t want to be a super human.

    It was a beautiful summer night. Everything appeared to be perfect at this roof top gathering I was almost too shy to attend (alone). The stars lite the sky and I swear I heard soft music of Beethoven or Bach, no actually it was Wagner’s, The Flying Dutchmen playing faintly in the background. It was the scene where the ship had landed and the women were excited to see their men for the first time in years. One particular woman was longing for a mate she only met in her dreams. Without any introduction, they knew exactly who each other was. With the gently touch of his hand on her arm, their eyes locked in a deep trance. They begin to share thoughts, past and present experiences, creating moments of what will be without speaking a word. This was exactly my reality or so I thought at this gathering.. We were standing so close talking, inches away from our first kiss, I could smell the grapes we both were eating moments before our encounter and perfume from both sides of the neck. Every word utter from the lips of the stranger put me in a deeper trace. If there was ever was a doubt of true love at first sight in my mind, it was now replace with belief. It was surreal. I was head over hills in love. The kind of love as if we were high school sweethearts, dancing to our first slow dance at the prom. Nothing in the world would break our bond so I thought until we started walking away from the gathering.

    On our way to getting a cool drink, I begin to hear a voice faintly in the background that kept getting louder and louder. What are you doing? WHAT ARE YOU DOING? We both stopped in our tracks, so did the music and the trance. The look on my face went through three expressions in a matter of 30 seconds: confused, confused and more confused of what was happening. I was in disbelieve, denial and lost when the words, yeah, let’s go get a cool drink. My mind was still stuck in time wondering, why she said it that way and why did she want to come with us. Don’t she know, three was a crowed. But my body, did not move as they both walked away. I was still, frozen yelling to myself, girl you better go get yours. Somehow, my body still would not move. At this point, they were gone leaving me to wonder, what the hell just happened here. Once again, I hear a voice faintly in the background, this time, they were calling my name. It was my friend asking if I was OK. I stated, it was real. It was strong. Our attraction was strong. I never felt this way before. My friend replied, girl let it go. Your mind was playing tricks on you, you misunderstood. A few minutes later, reality hit me hard as if someone smacked me in the face saying, wake up bitch! My reaction was, who you calling a bitch, bitch! (in a serious yet annoyed tone)

    There they were hand and hand, approaching the steps were everyone was siting. Out of all the spaces, they sat right next to me and begin kissing. The needle scratched on the record and the music stopped, at least in my mind. I stared in disbelief (like a lttlle girl who lost her balloon to the fighting wind.) Then the very same eyes that I was in a trace with locked again as if they were trying to say, it’s not what you think. I then bursted out, are you two together? Everyone on the steps stopped mid sentence turned, waiting for a response along with the one star shining a spot light on the the truth. With eyes down, bowed heads in a mutter and a ounce of hesitation (which appeared to be longer than a two minute commercial), you then hear….yes. My heart crushed just as the rainbow fireworks show begin.

    A few days later, I get a call. Yup, it was from you know who explaining that they were just “talking” and that it was very new. I forgot, I gave my number for a project we were suppose to work on together. As much as I wanted to engaged in the conversation, I couldn’t. Trust me, I wanted to. The temptation was strong but I just couldn’t go there. I always ask myself, what would I do, if It was the other way around. The call ended. Months later, to my surprise, we meet again. They were together, this time at a film event I was covering. Our eyes locked once again. Signals were stronger than the first day we met. Gosh, temptation was hard but I had to stay professional. I had to look away but I kept getting signals of “help, it’s not what you think.” I ignored it and kept going about my business.

    To this day, every now and again, I yarn for that kiss. Just one kiss, wondering what would have become. I live for what will be will be. If we are meant to be together, then it will happen but at the same time, life is too short. If our path ever cross and the energy, the attraction is just as strong, I will reveal my truth feelings regardless if they are together or not. Is that wrong? Am I selfish? I don’t want to be the “super human.” Attraction vs temptation, hummm. How strong will I be the next time?

    A not so short response…awkward

    Posted by Angel | March 23, 2012, 9:29 am
    • Thanks Angel..Sounds to me that you are a pretty resolute person and will probably be twice as strong if you ever have to face him again. And to think about the ‘what could have beens’ is only going to drive you mad! I know, I’ve been there 🙂 Thanks for sharing with me. Wish I could read your writings as well.

      T.

      Posted by andilovehim | March 24, 2012, 9:54 pm

Leave a Reply

